top of page

District 7 convention news

Thank you to all of the Brunswick County Democrats who attended the recent District 7 Convention! Special thanks to Tom Simmons and district leadership for running a well-planned, efficient event. Highlights:

  • It was great to hear from council of state candidates Sarah Taber (for Commissioner of Agriculture), Braxton Winston (for Commissioner of Labor), Judge Martin Moore (NC Court of Appeals), Dist. 7 U.S. Congressional candidate Marlando Pridgen, and many other candidates running for office in the counties of District 7. Brunswick County candidates Janis Simmons (for School Board), Bob Fulton and Tom Simmons (for Commissioners) spoke, and Acquinetta Beatty (for Register of Deeds) not only spoke, but sang a beautiful rendition of the National Anthem for us all!

  • The North Carolina Democratic Party's 1st and 2nd vice chairs, Jonah Garson and Kimberly Hardy (from Cumberland County) were on hand as well.

  • Our own Liz Guinan (precinct chair for Mosquito 2) and Ryan Buck (Young Democrats of Brunswick County president) were introduced as the new District 7 1st and 2nd vice chairs.

  • We elected Dist. 7 delegates to the Democratic National Convention in Chicago: Bill Flythe (Brunswick), Steve Strishna (Pender), David Joyner (New Hanover), Jill Hopman (New Hanover), and Cara Pearson (Robeson). Congratulations! See more convention photos on our social media and website (home page slideshow).

Consider donating $7 for the 7th HERE — make it recurring to best support our efforts to elect Marlando Pridgen for U.S. Congress! Visit the District 7 website.


bottom of page