

PRESS RELEASE For Immediate Release July 28, 2023 Contact: Lon Anderson lonanderson62@gmail.com 202-679-4020

THREE DEMOCRATS BEGIN TERMS ON BRUNSWICK COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS

Three Democrats have taken their seats as members of the Brunswick County Board of Elections (BOE) for a term that began July 18 and will continue for two years. The three members are:

Ed Lewis

Edward E. Lewis is the new chair of BOE. He was born in Greenville, NC, and is a graduate of North Carolina A&T State University and Duke University. Ed spent most of his career in the field of computer science, where he developed, tested and managed several software projects for IBM and other companies. This is the third term for Lewis, who resides with his wife in St. James

Paula Clarity

Paula Clarity, a resident of Leland, moved to Brunswick County from Long Island, NY, in 2016, is beginning her second term. An attorney who practices labor and employment law, Clarity served as Leland Precinct Chair and Third Vice-Chair of the County party until 2021, when she was appointed a member of the Brunswick County Board of Elections. While living in New York, Clarity assisted the Suffolk County Democratic Party as a poll observer.

Tim Randall

Timothy M. Randall, a Brunswick County native, is serving his first term on the BOE. He is a graduate of Brunswick Community College and Greensboro College. He received an MBA from Webster University. Retired from Brunswick Community College, he is currently a first sergeant in the U.S. Army Reserves and a trustee at the Pleasant Grove Missionary Baptist Church. He lives in Calabash, NC.

"The BOE plays a central role in protecting the voting rights of Brunswick County citizens," said Shelley Allen, chair of the Brunswick County Democratic Party. "The BCDP is confident the three Democratic candidates on the BOE will do their part to encourage voter registration and to make it easier for voters to cast their ballots for the candidates and issues of their choice."

The Brunswick County BOE is a five-person, bipartisan board whose members are appointed in July of odd-numbered years. Four members are appointed by the State Board of Elections and the chair is appointed by the governor. Each member serves a two-year term.

PHOTOS ATTACHED

####